To Mayors:

Net Neutrality is the First Amendment of the internet, essential to everyone’s rights to connect and communicate online. Without Net Neutrality protections, phone and cable companies can block, throttle and otherwise interfere with our access to sites and services online.

The FCC recently voted to take away Net Neutrality protections. This unpopular decision has sparked a national movement to defend the open internet and restore Net Neutrality safeguards.

As a resident of your city, I urge you to join the movement by signing the Cities Open Internet Pledge.

Team up with other mayors — including Bill de Blasio of New York, Ted Wheeler of Portland and Steve Adler of Austin — who have signed the pledge to save the internet!

    Not ? Click here.

    You will receive periodic updates from Free Press and Free Press Action Fund. You may unsubscribe at any time. We take your privacy seriously — read our privacy policy.

    Become a Net Neutrality City

    Late last year, the Federal Communications Commission voted to strip internet users of their rights to choose what they do, where they go and whom they connect with online. Without these Net Neutrality protections, large phone and cable companies are now able to block, throttle and slow access to sites and services at will.

    The FCC's massively unpopular decision has sparked a national movement to demand the return of real Net Neutrality. Millions of people across the political spectrum are taking action in the streets, at their statehouses, outside the FCC and before Congress.

    The momentum has been incredible among mayors, too. Mayors Bill de Blasio of New York, Ted Wheeler of Portland and Steve Adler of Austin just called on all other U.S. mayors to join them in a Cities Open Internet Pledge, which requires all internet providers with whom they do business to follow a strong set of Net Neutrality principles.

    Urge your mayor to stand for Net Neutrality. Sign this letter and we will deliver it to your city hall asking your mayor to sign the Cities Open Internet Pledge and join the national movement for an open internet!

    Current signers: 

    Mayor Bill de Blasio — New York, New York
    Mayor Steve Adler — Austin, Texas
    Mayor Ted Wheeler — Portland, Oregon
    Mayor Ron Nirenberg — San Antonio, Texas
    Mayor Sly James — Kansas City, Missouri
    Mayor Mark Farrell — San Francisco, California
    Mayor Catherine E. Pugh — Baltimore, Maryland
    County Board of Supervisors Chair Zach Friend – Santa Cruz County, California
    Mayor Barney Seney — Putnam, Connecticut
    Mayor Paul Soglin — Madison, Wisconsin
    Mayor Sam Liccardo — San Jose, California
    Mayor Jacob Frey — Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Mayor Ethan Strimling — Portland, Maine
    Mayor Steve Schewel — Durham, North Carolina
    Mayor Don Boeder — Gaylord, Minnesota
    Mayor Tom Feldkamp — Bow Mar, Colorado
    Mayor Pauline Cutter — San Leandro, California
    Mayor Lucy Vinis — Eugene, Oregon
    Mayor Lisa Swain — Fair Lawn, New Jersey
    Mayor Laura Keegan — Edgewater, Colorado
    Mayor Michael Tubbs — Stockton, California
    Mayor Steve Schewel — Durham, North Carolina